David Russell

Tue, 07/31/2018, 8:00 pm, Kreuzkirche

russell_neuDavid Russell is one of the most outstanding personalities in the world of the classical guitar. For many years, he has been ethusing his audience with his unmistakable personal style full of charm, spirit and distrinctive sound.
David Russell was born in 1953 in Glasgow, Scotland. His father was his first teacher. When he was only 17, he entered the Royal Academy of Musicin London to study with Hector Quine. A scholarship enabled him to continue his studies with José Tomas in Alicante, Spain.
David Russell now lives in Spain and undertakes extensive tours all around the world.
He is one of the few concert guitarists who has won a Grammy in the category "Best Instrumental Soloist Performance". In addition to countless other awards, he received the title "Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music" in 1997 in recognition of his exceptional talent and international career.
As a teacher, he has an excellent reputation built up over many years. Guitarists from all over the world come to Nürtingen in order to benefit from a master class with David Russell.

Concert overview

David Russell

Dienstag, 02.08.2016, 20:00 Uhr, Kreuzkirche

russell_neu David Russell ist eine herausragende Persönlichkeit in der Welt der Konzertgitarre. Seit vielen Jahren begeistert er seine Zuhörer mit seinem unverwechselbaren persönlichen Stil voller Charme, Geist und edler Tongebung.
David Russell wurde 1953 in Glasgow, Schottland, geboren. Sein Vater war sein erster Lehrer. Schon mit 17 Jahren begann er an der Royal Academy bei Hector Quine zu studieren. Ein Stipendium ermöglichte ihm, seine Studien bei José Tomas in Alicante, Spanien, fortzusetzen. Seit vielen Jahren lebt Russell in Spanien, wenn er nicht gerade auf einer seiner umfangreichen Tourneen in der ganzen Welt unterwegs ist.
Er ist einer der wenigen Konzertgitarristen, die jemals einen Grammy in der Kategorie „Bester klassischer Soloinstrumentalist“ gewonnen haben. Neben zahllosen anderen Auszeichnungen wurde ihm in Anerkennung seines außergewöhnlichen Talents und der internationalen Karriere im Jahre 1997 von der ‚Royal Academy of Music‘ in London der Titel „Fellow“ verliehen.
Auch als Lehrer hat er sich inzwischen einen legendären Ruf erarbeitet. Gitarristen aus der ganzen Welt kommen nach Nürtingen, um in den Genuss einer Meisterkursstunde bei David Russell zu kommen.

Konzertübersicht