Thomas Müller-Pering

Double Concert 30. Juli 8 pm Kreuzkirche

Thomas Müller-Pering began playing the guitar when he was about 13 years old. He received guitar lessons from Heiner Viertmann in Cologne and Volker Glaser. From 1975 to 1980 he studied with Tadashi Sasaki at the Musikhochschule Köln, Aachen department. In parallel, he took part in numerous master classes, u. a. Siegfried Behrend, José Tomas, Oscar Ghiglia and John Williams.
Between 1980 and 1998 he had a teaching assignment at the Aachen Musikhochschule. Since then, Thomas Müller-Pering has given many master classes in Germany and abroad. From 1994 to 1997 he was guest professor at the Liszt School of Music Weimar. In 1997 he was appointed professor at the same university in Weimar. He currently has a visiting professorship at the UdK Berlin. There he represents Martin Rennert. Concert tours took him to other European countries, to North and South America, Cuba and North Africa.
In addition to solo performances and publications, he devotes himself intensively to chamber music and performs in various ensembles, in recent years especially in a duo with the flutist Wally Hase and the violinist Friedemann Eichhorn. In 1991, he was the duo partner of Manuel Barrueco in his CD full recording of „Danzas Españolas“ by Enrique Granados for the label EMI. From 2003 to 2005 he was a member of the now dissolved World Guitar Ensemble, since 2007 he is a member of the United Guitar Ensemble and since 2004 of the Quartetto MaGiCo.

Concert overview

Thomas Müller-Pering

Doppelkonzert 30. Juli 20 Uhr Kreuzkirche

Mit etwa 13 Jahren begann Thomas Müller-Pering Gitarre zu spielen. Gitarrenunterricht erhielt er von Heiner Viertmann in Köln und Volker Glaser. Von 1975 bis 1980 studierte er bei Tadashi Sasaki an der Musikhochschule Köln, Abteilung Aachen. Parallel dazu nahm er an zahlreichen Meisterkursen teil, u. a. bei Siegfried Behrend, José Tomas, Oscar Ghiglia und John Williams.

Zwischen 1980 und 1998 hatte er einen Lehrauftrag an der Aachener Musikhochschule. Seither gibt Thomas Müller-Pering selbst viele Meisterkurse im In- und Ausland. Von 1994 bis 1997 bekleidete er eine Gastprofessor an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar. 1997 folgte die Ernennung zum Professor an ebengenannter Hochschule in Weimar. Derzeit hat er eine Gastprofessur an der UdK Berlin. Dort vertritt er Martin Rennert. Konzertreisen führten ihn ins europäische Ausland, nach Nord- und Südamerika, Kuba und Nordafrika.

Neben solistischen Auftritten und Veröffentlichungen widmet er sich intensiv der Kammermusik und tritt in verschiedenen Besetzungen auf, in den letzten Jahren vor allem im Duo mit der Flötistin Wally Hase und dem Geiger Friedemann Eichhorn. 1991 war er der Duo-Partner von Manuel Barrueco bei dessen CD-Gesamteinspielung der »Danzas Españolas« von Enrique Granados für das Label EMI. Von 2003 bis 2005 war er Mitglied des mittlerweile aufgelösten World Guitar Ensemble, seit 2007 ist er Mitglied des United Guitar Ensemble und seit 2004 des Quartetto MaGiCo.

Konzertübersicht